Life, reading, music, dancing, fashion, movies, and being me!

Fashion contests have been combined with the reality television shows phenomenon. Pair up a model or supermodel and build a show with fashion designers and/or models is one formula. Shows with a supermodel/model host/judge: America’s Next Top Model (Tyra Banks); Project Runway (Heidi Klum); Make Me a Supermodel (Tyson Beckford and Niki Taylor); She’s Got the Look (Kim Alexis/Beverly Johnson and Brooke Burke/Roshumba Williams); and The Fashion Show (Iman) to name some.  Some of the shows also featured fashion designers in a prominent role:  The Fashion Show (Isaac Mizrahi); Launch My Line (DSquared); and Project Runway (Michael Kors) to name a few.

I have found it interesting to watch these shows, not only for the fashions but also for the guests and guest judges.  America’s Next Top Model (ANTM) had Janice Dickinson, Twiggy and Paulina Porizkova as judges.  Project Runway has had Zac Posen, Diane Von Furstenberg, Vera Wang, Roberto Cavalli, Monique L’huillier as well as the very fashionable Sarah Jessica Parker and Victoria Beckham.  Make Me a Supermodel had Naomi Campbell.

My favorite contestant and winner is Christian Siriano from Project Runway, Season 4.  I really liked Merle Ginsberg’s convertible collection from Launch My Line.  I liked Reco Chappelle’s designs from The Fashion Show, Season 1.  I liked Holly Kiser, the winner of Make Me a Supermodel, Season 1, and Sandhurst Miggins from Season 2. From ANTM, I liked Eva Pigford (winner of Season 3) and Jaslene Gonzalez (winner of Season 8).  From She’s Got the Look, my favorite was Tanya Hutchison, winner of Season 1.

As you can tell, I’ve enjoyed watching the shows, and have a definite opinion about who I liked.  Who were your favorites from these shows?  Was there a fashion competition reality show that I didn’t mention that you enjoy watching?

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

