Life, reading, music, dancing, fashion, movies, and being me!

It’s Fashionable to Recycle

Rachel Zoe in Vintage

There are debates about the benefits of recycling. I am for it, 100%. Recycling, to me, includes reusing things. Vintage clothing is recycling! Wearing Vintage Chanel, Dior, and Marc Jacobs… is fashionable recycling to me.  Also the runways ‘recycle’ fashion trends from the 1950s, 1960s, 1970s, and 1980s recently.  You do need to be careful in purchasing vintage designer items to make sure that they are authentic; I recommend reading Rachel Zoe’s Guide to Vintage on Fabsugar’s blog.

Last year my apartment building got a recycling bin, and my trash has reduced significantly. I usually have twice the recycling than trash! I put in paper, cans, glass, and plastic. It’s not hard to do. I have a large wastebasket ($7.00) that I fill up separately from my trash container. It’s that simple. I take down the recycling in a plastic garbage bag (so it can be recycled, too!) and put it in the recycling bin. (Hopefully, the recycling center actually recycles all that I put in it.)

You can alter clothes by sewing them into something else: jeans into shorts, maxi skirt into cute mini skirt; About.com has an article on ideas for that. Or donate clothes you no longer want to places such as Goodwill or Out of the Closet. They’ll be ‘new’ for someone else who could really appreciate them.  There are clothes and accessories that are made from recycled materials.  I found a website that makes some clothes from recycled materials:  Clothes Made From Scrap; though I have not purchased anything from them.

Nike has a ‘Re-use a Shoe‘ program; they re-use all of used sneakers AKA kicks/running shoes/trainers to be part of a track, basketball court, and tennis court.  You can purchase used or vintage items on Amazon.com (or .ca or .co.uk) and eBay.

These are just some ways to ‘recycle’ fashion.  Do you have any suggestions or websites that recycle to share?

Comments on: "It’s Fashionable to Recycle" (1)

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

