Life, reading, music, dancing, fashion, movies, and being me!

Wedding Dresses: Only White?

Sofia Coppola

It is the accepted practice to wear a white dress, gown, or suit to get married if you are the bride in the U.S.A., even if you’ve been married previously. White, personally, is not my favorite color; I avoid it whenever possible. No white shirt, skirt, or shoes for me. A bridal shop is a sea of white to me; it feels a bit like a uniform, much like a chef or a doctor wears white. I’m not fond of uniforms, either.

Valerie Bertinelli wedding dress

I really liked that Valerie Bertinelli’s wedding dress was blue. I thought it seemed a bit daring and fun. It’s not for everybody. If I were ever to get married, I’d choose a color that I really like for that special dress. Not any shade of white: off-white, ivory, cream, eggshell, not even light gray.

Sofia Coppola got married recently and her wedding dress was lavender. Reese Witherspoon got married in a pale pink dress. I was hoping that Kim Kardashian might ‘push the envelope’ by not choosing a white wedding gown. She chose a lovely Vera Wang gown, white, of course.

According to Wikipedia, the tradition of the white wedding gown started in 1840 with Queen Victoria, and became a tradition in the U.S.A. after World War II. White is for the bride, black is for funerals. Some traditions are worth breaking, if you choose. Fashion can be a tradition, too.

“Don’t wear white after Labor Day” is quite dated advice today. So take a chance, wear what you want and feel comfortable in, regardless of the color and even the occasion. Use your judgment, of course. But don’t be so tied to tradition;  feel free to make some new ones of your own. Have you ever considered doing something different from what is expected?

Comments on: "Wedding Dresses: Only White?" (11)

  1. I am always a big fan of white, regardless. However I have seen some lately with a band of color at the hem that look pretty nice.

    • Lisa Salvary said:

      Mike E.,
      Gwen Stefani’s wedding dress was white with the bottom section in pink; I thought that was pretty. Thanks for your comment.
      Lisa

  2. I love the different array of wedding dress choices available these days, I saw the most beautiful pale blue wedding dress and it looked a hundred times better than a white meringue Jen xoxo http://mystylisticlife.wordpress.com

    • Lisa Salvary said:

      Jennifer,
      Thanks for your comment; I agree about the array available. I checked out your blog. Stylish. I am now a subscriber.
      Lisa 🙂

  3. […] #split {}#single {}#splitalign {margin-left: auto; margin-right: auto;}#singlealign {margin-left: auto; margin-right: auto;}.linkboxtext {line-height: 1.4em;}.linkboxcontainer {padding: 7px 7px 7px 7px;background-color:#eeeeee;border-color:#000000;border-width:0px; border-style:solid;}.linkboxdisplay {padding: 7px 7px 7px 7px;}.linkboxdisplay td {text-align: center;}.linkboxdisplay a:link {text-decoration: none;}.linkboxdisplay a:hover {text-decoration: underline;} function opensingledropdown() { document.getElementById('singletablelinks').style.display = ''; document.getElementById('singlemouse').style.display = 'none'; } function closesingledropdown() { document.getElementById('singletablelinks').style.display = 'none'; document.getElementById('singlemouse').style.display = ''; } Cream Spoonfull, White Room, Etc. (Royal Albert Hall 2005)Cream : White Room LyricsCream, White Room ,Live – PRO Guitar StoreWhite All-Cotton Non-Iron Dress Shirt by Brooks Brothersshall we dance?Adrienne and Mason playing Mario Galaxy – PRO Guitar StoreWedding Dresses: Only White? […]

  4. […] = '';} } Bridal hundred percent – 10 wedding dress to buy a large body defect lawBridal hundred percent – 10 wedding dress to buy a large body defect lawWedding Dresses: Only […]

  5. Wonderful site. Lots of useful info here. I am sending it to some buddies ans also sharing in delicious. And certainly, thanks for your effort!

  6. F*ckin? awesome things here. I?m very happy to see your article. Thanks a lot and i’m having a look forward to touch you. Will you please drop me a e-mail?

  7. Thanks , I’ve recently been looking for info about this subject for ages and yours is the best I have found out so far. But, what about the conclusion? Are you positive in regards to the supply?

  8. Hey, you used to write excellent, but the last few posts have been kinda boring� I miss your tremendous writings. Past several posts are just a little out of track! come on!”The smaller the understanding of the situation, the more pretentious the form of expression.” by John Romano.

    I like what you guys are up too. Such clever work and reporting! Keep up the superb works guys I’ve incorporated you guys to my blogroll. I think it’ll improve the value of my site :). “The bigger the information media, the less courage and freedom they allow. Bigness means weakness.” by Eric Sevareid.

    Thank you for sharing superb informations. Your web site is so cool. I’m impressed by the details that you’ve on this site. It reveals how nicely you understand this subject. Bookmarked this web page, will come back for extra articles. You, my pal, ROCK! I found just the information I already searched all over the place and simply could not come across. What a great web-site.

    I’ve recently started a website, the information you provide on this website has helped me greatly. Thank you for all of your time & work. “It is no use saying, ‘We are doing our best.’ You have got to succeed in doing what is necessary.” by Sir Winston Churchill.

    I really appreciate this post. I have been looking everywhere for this! Thank goodness I found it on Bing. You have made my day! Thank you again! “All that is gold does not glitter not all those that wander are lost.” by J. R. R. Tolkien.

    Nice read, I just passed this onto a colleague who was doing some research on that. And he actually bought me lunch because I found it for him smile Therefore let me rephrase that: Thank you for lunch! “They may forget what you said, but they will never forget how you made them feel.” by Carl W. Buechner.

    Great write-up, I’m normal visitor of one’s blog, maintain up the nice operate, and It’s going to be a regular visitor for a lengthy time. “There is a time for departure even when there’s no certain place to go.” by Tennessee Williams.

    I would like to thank you for the efforts you’ve put in writing this site. I’m hoping the same high-grade website post from you in the upcoming also. Actually your creative writing skills has inspired me to get my own site now. Actually the blogging is spreading its wings quickly. Your write up is a good example of it.

    Good blog! I truly love how it is simple on my eyes and the data are well written. I am wondering how I might be notified whenever a new post has been made. I have subscribed to your feed which must do the trick! Have a nice day! “A rut is a grave with the ends knocked out.” by Laurence J. Peter.

    Hiya, I’m really glad I have found this info. Today bloggers publish only about gossips and internet and this is actually annoying. A good site with exciting content, that’s what I need. Thank you for keeping this site, I will be visiting it. Do you do newsletters? Can not find it.

    I believe other website proprietors should take this internet site as an example , very clean and great user genial style . “Sometimes the road less traveled is less traveled for a reason.” by Jerry Seinfeld.

    Woh I love your posts , saved to fav! .
    Appreciate it for this marvellous post, I am glad I observed this site on yahoo.

    Just what I was looking for, regards for putting up. “In England every man you meet is some man’s son in America, he may be some man’s father.” by Ralph Waldo Emerson.

    As I website possessor I think the articles here is very great , appreciate it for your efforts.

    Deference to op , some great entropy. “If you don’t leap, you’ll never know what it’s like to fly.” by Guy Finley.

    I gotta favorite this site it seems extremely helpful invaluable
    Simply wanna comment that you have a very decent internet site , I the design it really stands out.

    I got what you intend, thanks for putting up.Woh I am lucky to find this website through google. “Finley is going over to get a new piece of bat.” by Jerry Coleman.

    You have brought up a very great details , thanks for the post. “The great object is, that every man be armed. … Every one who is able may have a gun.” by Patrick Henry.

    Merely wanna say that this is very beneficial , Thanks for taking your time to write this. “One man with courage is a majority.” by Thomas Jefferson.

    Yay google is my king assisted me to find this great internet site ! . “The worst sin – perhaps the only sin – passion can commit, is to be joyless.” by Dorothy L. Sayers.

    I conceive you have remarked some very interesting details , regards for the post.

    Enjoyed studying this, very good stuff, thanks .

    I dugg some of you post as I thought they were extremely helpful very useful

    As soon as I detected this site I went on reddit to share some of the love with them. “The new Haitian baseball can’t weigh more than four ounces or less than five.” by Jerry Coleman.

    Some really prize blog posts on this site, saved to favorites .

    I truly enjoy looking through on this web site , it contains fantastic content .

    Absolutely composed content , appreciate it for selective information .

    But a smiling visitant here to share the love (:, btw outstanding style . “People forget how fast you did a job – but they remember how well you did it.” by Howard Newton.

    I believe that is among the most important information for me. And i’m glad reading your article. However wanna commentary on few normal things, The web site taste is perfect, the articles is really excellent :D. Excellent task, cheers.

    We’re a bunch of volunteers and opening a new scheme in our community. Your web site provided us with useful info to paintings on. You have performed a formidable job and our entire group will be thankful to you.

    Definitely consider that which you said. Your favorite reason appeared to be on the net the easiest factor to be aware of. I say to you, I certainly get irked while folks think about concerns that they plainly do not know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top and also defined out the entire thing with no need side-effects , other folks could take a signal. Will likely be back to get more. Thanks!

    This is really attention-grabbing, You’re an overly skilled blogger. I’ve joined your rss feed and stay up for in the hunt for extra of your excellent post. Also, I’ve shared your web site in my social networks!

    Hey There. I found your weblog using msn. That is an extremely smartly written article. I will be sure to bookmark it and come back to learn extra of your helpful info. Thank you for the post. I’ll definitely comeback.

    I liked as much as you will receive performed right here. The comic strip is attractive, your authored subject matter stylish. however, you command get bought an edginess over that you wish be turning in the following. in poor health indubitably come more until now again as precisely the same just about a lot often inside case you defend this increase.

    Hello, i believe that i saw you visited my web site so i got here to �return the prefer�.I am attempting to in finding issues to enhance my website!I assume its good enough to make use of some of your concepts!!

    Simply desire to say your article is as surprising. The clearness in your put up is just spectacular and i could suppose you’re an expert in this subject. Well together with your permission allow me to grasp your feed to keep up to date with approaching post. Thanks one million and please carry on the rewarding work.

    Its like you read my mind! You appear to know so much about this, such as you wrote the book in it or something. I think that you can do with a few percent to pressure the message house a little bit, but other than that, this is fantastic blog. A great read. I will certainly be back.

    Thank you for the auspicious writeup. It in fact used to be a entertainment account it. Glance advanced to far brought agreeable from you! By the way, how can we be in contact?

    Very interesting information!Perfect just what I was looking for!

    I was studying some of your blog posts on this website and I conceive this web site is really informative ! Keep on posting .

    Very superb info can be found on blog .
    I like this web site very much, Its a very nice berth to read and receive information.

    Very interesting points you have observed , thanks for posting . “Success is a journey, not a destination. The doing is often more important than the outcome.” by Arthur Ashe.

    I like this web blog its a master peace ! Glad I discovered this on google. “Don’t spend time beating on a wall, hoping to transform it into a door.” by Dr. Laura Schlessinger.

    Wohh just what I was looking for, appreciate it for posting . “Arguments are like fire-arms which a man may keep at home but should not carry about with him.” by Samuel Butler.

    I always was concerned in this subject and still am, appreciate it for posting .

    Thankyou for all your efforts that you have put in this. very interesting info . “Few are those who see with their own eyes and feel with their own hearts.” by Albert Einstein.

    I like this web site very much so much excellent info . “Abstract art is a product of the untalented, sold by the unprincipled to the utterly bewildered.” by Al Capp.

    Great post, I believe people should larn a lot from this site its very user pleasant. “A happy childhood has spoiled many a promising life.” by Robertson Davies.

    Rattling nice style and superb written content , practically nothing else we need : D.

    Keep up the good piece of work, I read few content on this internet site and I think that your web blog is real interesting and holds sets of great information.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

