Life, reading, music, dancing, fashion, movies, and being me!

Day 10 of The Single Woman 30 Day Challenge. I’m 1/3 of the way through and still blogging!!

I ‘Googled’ my name, and Wikipedia popped up. Here are some of the results:

Lisa is a short form of Elisabeth, which is the Greek transliteration of the Hebrew name Elisheva, meaning “God’s promise”, “oath of God”, or “I am God’s daughter”.

I used to hate my name. It’s pretty common. And there often was at least one other Lisa in my classes or jobs. But now, I own it. It’s my name. None of the meanings or uses of my name fit me. But I fit me!

Here are some other things that popped under “Lisa” on Wikipedia.

Lisa (computer chip),

1992 Apple Lisa computer, the precursor to the Apple Macintosh

LISA+, a traffic engineering software package for microsimulation

Lisa (film), a 1989 crime thriller film

Lisa Lisa and Cult Jam, a freestyle music group from 1980s

Lisa (mythology), a creator deity in Dahomeyan religion – I like this one!!

Acronyms:  LISA (conference), formerly Large Installation System Administration conference LISA,

LISA Laser Interferometer Space Antenna, a proposed space mission concept designed to detect and accurately measure gravitational waves.

Liaison Interne Satellite Aérogare, one of the two lines of CDGVAL at Charles de Gaulle International Airport

Life Insurance Settlement Association, a non-profit trade organization of viatical and life settlement companies

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

