Life, reading, music, dancing, fashion, movies, and being me!

Gansett After Dark (The McCarthys of Gansett Island, #11)Gansett After Dark by Marie Force

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This is my fave of this erotic romance series, so far! Surprises, weddings, heartwarming events, and lots of love & sex. Marie Force delivered!

I have enjoyed the Gansett Island series overall, but this one blew me away. It refreshed the series and added the element of surprises that weren’t in the previous novels. Seamus and Carolina, one of my fave couples, have their turn in the spotlight with their clambake. Sarah and Charlie, both of whom had been hurt by past loves, learn to trust again and Charlie’s gentle seduction is romantic. Of course, Owen and Laurie are central to this story as it continues their HEA with bumps in the road with Owen’s trial and Laurie’s rough pregnancy. I love that even after couples get together, it shows that love is about facing challenges as well as good times.

There is a lot going on with many of the couples from past books, with all of them at least mentioned. Mac and Maddie never fail to win my heart. Big Mac, Mac’s dad, gets a surprise that affects the whole family and will need another book to sort out completely. There were many additional characters introduced deftly with terrific secondary storylines that I’d love to read more about.

The multi-generational range makes this story of passion and romance fairly unique in contemporary romance series. Each couple has their own unique set of issues. I love that the men are caught gossiping! The things they reveal are humorous and insightful. There are plenty of sexy scenes and depth to the main storyline as Owen and Sarah, his mother, gear up to face their father/husband abuser at a trial. Owen worried that he’d turn out to be an abuser like his father, a concern that endeared him to me. So many of Owen’s friends wanted to attend the trial to provide him with support. This series always reminds me of the importance of family, friends, and true love.

This is a standalone that can be read without having read any of the others; however, the depth, richness, and enjoyment of it would be many times more if you do read the rest of the series. I highly recommend this story and series.

Aviary Photo_130465098638096458


“It’s not fair.”

“What isn’t?”

“Someone ought to warn a girl that when she gets involved with a writer, she’s going to be powerless when he unleashes words on her.”

“You’re not powerless, babe. You’ve got all the power here. You’ve ruined me for all other women, so if you don’t marry me, you’re dooming me to living like a monk for the rest of my life, a lonely, worthless shell of the guy I might’ve been with you as my wife.”

She laughed despite the tears that continued to flow freely. “See what I mean? What am I supposed to say to that?

“You could say, ‘Why, yes, Grant, as usual you’re right about everything. And that it’s all going to be okay. As long as the two of us are together, we can get through anything, including parenthood.’ You could say, ‘I love you and only you, and I want to marry you as much as you want to marry me.’ You could also say-‘

She reached for him, wrapping her arms around his neck and holding on to him for dear life. “What you said,” she whispered against his lips. “All of it.”



Barnes & Noble


From Marie Force’s Amazon author page

Marie Force picWith more than 2.5 million books sold, Marie Force is the New York Times, USA Today and Wall Street Journal bestselling, award-winning author of more than 30 contemporary romances. Her New York Times bestselling self-published McCarthys of Gansett Island Series has sold more than 1.3 million e-books since Maid for Love was released in 2011. She is also the author of the New York Times bestselling Fatal Series from Harlequin’s Carina Press, as well as the Treading Water Series and numerous stand-alone books. All You Need is Love, book 1 in her new Green Mountain Series from Berkley Sensation, was a New York Times and USA Today bestseller in February 2014. The second book, I Want to Hold Your Hand, was released in June, and the third book, I Saw Her Standing There, is coming in November.

In 2014, Marie will have eight mass-market print releases–the first five Fatal Series books from Harlequin and the first three Green Mountain Series books from Berkley. Her most recent book, Fatal Jeopardy, book 7 in the Fatal Series, released on March 24, 2014, was a New York Times and USA Today bestseller. She recently agreed to a major three-book deal with Berkley for her upcoming contemporary Quantum Series, featuring Hollywood heavy-hitters who are determined to remain single until love changes their plans.

While her husband was in the Navy, Marie lived in Spain, Maryland and Florida, and she is now settled in her home state of Rhode Island. She is the mother of two teenagers and two feisty dogs, Brandy and Louie.



Join Marie’s mailing list at for news about new books and other possible appearances in your area.

Follow her on Twitter @marieforce

Like her on Facebook:

Join one of Marie’s many reader groups:


Comments on: "Review: Gansett After Dark by Marie Force" (2)

  1. Oh man. I seriously feel like I have been missing out. I’ve still not read her but definitely gonna have to work her in soon I think. Sounds like just my kinda read 🙂

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Tag Cloud

%d bloggers like this: