Life, reading, music, dancing, fashion, movies, and being me!

How-to-Be-Single-PosterMy friend and I went to see How To Be Single movie at the Regal Movie Theaters. We’re single, and we thought that it would be fun to see this romantic comedy. I was expecting a specific outcome when each main character was introduced, but I did find that there were some surprises. Those surprises made the movie for me.

I enjoyed it more than I thought I would. I will admit that I had fairly low expectations when I attended it. I figured that I might have a chuckle or two, an eye roll or two, and a predictable ending to finish it off. Instead, I found myself laughing out loud within the first fifteen minutes of the movie. I liked all of the female characters who were quite different.

Dakota Johnson played Alice, a paralegal, who starts her new job at a law firm after moving to New York City and breaking up with her boyfriend of four years. She wants them to break up to find out if they are right for each other and not just because they’ve gotten comfortable dating each other. Josh wants them to move in together. Throughout the movie, she wonders whether she was right to break up with him as she navigates being single in the big city. I liked Alice a lot. I liked that she was the opposite of her older sister played by Leslie Mann, Meg.

Meg is a pediatrician, successful, and single, who realizes that she wants a baby without the complications of a relationship. She heads to a sperm bank and gets pregnant. Her story has an unexpected twist that I enjoyed. There was also Lucy, played by Alison Brie, who was determined to find her soulmate through her algorithms. The bartender, Tom, eschews relationships, but finds himself attracted to her. Lucy has some hilarious missteps with men as she pursues her dream mate. Even this had an unexpected twist that kept this movie from being predictable. Robin, played by Rebel Wilson, knows how to be single, her way. She embraces the party girl, but has her own secret. She provides much of the humor and a good lesson to Alice later in the movie.

This movie’s premise is that there is not one way to be single. Being single is different for each of the main characters, dependent on their personalities and where they were in their lives. This is what got me. There is no one right answer, but the one thing is to be yourself and be open to the possibilities. I felt validation for being single without needing an explanation or apology.

I was entertained, laughed out loud, and identified with their issues. It is a movie that I would watch again. I, too, am finding my own way of being single. I really liked that each woman knew what was right for herself ultimately. They had their own journeys and changed their minds about themselves and life. I would recommend it and have done so to my friends. This was a gem that I almost missed because I was too ready to dismiss it as formulaic.

I liked some of the songs from the movie, including Hailee Steinfeld’s Love Myself and Kendrick Lamarr’s “i”.

 

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

